Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Stanley Fahn Junior Faculty Award

Grants to USA and Canada Junior Faculty
Members for Parkinson's Research Project

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Parkinson's Foundation

LOI Date:


Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA and Canada junior faculty members for a Parkinson's disease-related research project. Applicants must submit a Letter of Inquiry prior to applying. Proposed projects should have pre-clinical, clinical, or basic research proposals that include novel research hypotheses and directly impact the treatment or understanding of Parkinson's Disease.

The award acts as a bridge to ensure promising early career scientists stay in the Parkinson’s research field, helping the Foundation to solve, treat and end the disease. In today’s funding environment, as young scientists navigate the path from mentored to independent research, they face a “valley of death” between their scientific potential and the funding they need to make it happen. This award can stem Parkinson’s research talent loss.

In conjunction with their institution’s commitment, the award gives junior investigators the support they need to develop their own independent funding source (such as an NIH R01 award) and stay in the PD research field. Becoming an independent research leader with his or her own research space is the ultimate goal.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 186990

Estimated Total Program Funding:

Estimated Size of Grant:

Each award provides $300,000 in total costs.

Term of Contract:

The Stanley Fahn Faculty Transition awards are three-year grants, with the second and third years subject to assessment of the previous year's progress.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Junior faculty members possessing a Ph.D., M.D., or equivalent are eligible to apply. Applicants must meet the National Institutes of Health (NIH) definition of a "new investigator." The Parkinson’s Foundation anticipates the typical applicant will hold an assistant professor level position with up to several years of experience. Earlier stage faculty and those with more experience will be considered provided they meet the above eligibility criteria.

This program is restricted to full-time faculty members of institutions in the U.S. and Canada with a current instructor or assistant professor post. As a career development initiative, the program is not open to current or prior holders of NIH R01 awards or their equivalent. An applicant must be in a tenure-track position or in the case of an Instructor, have the intent to begin a tenure-track position as shown by a support letter from his or her department chair. Only one award per institution will be given each year, but special exemptions may be considered.
The award is open to applicants, regardless of citizenship, who are residents and faculty members at institutions in the U.S. and Canada.

Pre-Application Information:

The application process is divided into two parts. Applicants will first send a letter of intent. Based on favorable peer-review, applicants may then be invited to submit a full application, also for peer-review.

Opens: Monday, September 9, 2019
LOI Due: Friday, November 15, 2019
Full Application Due: Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Award Notification: late April 2020
Award Begins: June 1, 2020

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Link to online application:


FL: 200 SE 1st Street, Ste 800, Miami, FL 33131, USA
NY: 1359 Broadway, Ste 1509, New York, NY 10018, USA

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon