Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Grants for Individuals - RPB Walt and Lilly Disney Award for Amblyopia Research

Grants to USA Scientists in IHEs
for Research Related to Amblyopia

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Research to Prevent Blindness (RPB)

Deadline Date:

12/15/19 11:59 PM (EST)


Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA scientists in IHEs for ophthalmology research related to amblyopia. Applicants must be nominated by their department chairs before applying. Funding is intended to promote research into the pathophysiology, treatment methodologies, and/or diagnosis of amblyopia.

Grants will be offered to support exceptional ophthalmic scientists doing research of unusual significance and promise in amblyopia. Specialty fields of proposed research may include anatomy, oncology, biochemistry or molecular biology, clinical or epidemiologic investigations, the cornea, or the lens.

Although this award is meant to support amblyopia investigators at various stages of their academic careers, be advised that proposals should reflect independent research. 

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 183382

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Estimated Size of Grant:

Grants of up to a total of $100,000 to be divided among one or more awardees at a time.

Term of Contract:

Awardees will be required to expend the award within two (2) years.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

This award is available to researchers from any institution of higher education in the U.S.

Candidates must be full-time faculty in their primary appointment department by the application deadline.

Any previous individual RPB grants to the candidate must be fully spent and recognized as terminated by RPB before an individual researcher may apply for another RPB grant.

Ophthalmology Chairs are not eligible for this award.

Pre-Application Information:

Spring Cycle Deadlines:
- December 15, 2019 - Nomination Form Deadline
- January 10, 2020 - Application Deadline (awarded in June)

Fall Cycle Deadlines:
- June 15 - Nomination Form Deadline
- July 1 - Application Deadline

This award may be available through Spring 2020.

The nomination and application forms for this award are not available online. Contact Pattie Moran, Director of Grants Admissions, to obtain the Disney Award for Amblyopia Research nomination and application forms.

Applications received without a prior nomination form will not be accepted. (If the nomination or application deadline falls on a weekend or holiday, consider the following business day the deadline.)

Full-time department Chairs from any institution of higher education in the US may nominate MDs, PhDs, or MD/PhDs with a primary appointment in either the ophthalmology department or in another relevant department (Assistant Professor through full Professor). Interim or acting Chairs cannot nominate a candidate for this award.

Only one nomination per department per school will be considered in this grant category.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online Application Portal: (password RESEARCH)
Please note only one (1) upload action, with application and all applicable supporting documentation, will be accepted per candidate.

If you have any questions regarding the RPB Grants Program, please contact:

Pattie Moran, Director of Grants Administration
Research to Prevent Blindness

Research to Prevent Blindness
360 Lexington Avenue, 22nd Floor
New York, NY 10017-6528
(212) 752-4333; (646) 892-9566

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming